Performing 101

Why is a post about performing effectively on a fangirling blog? Because I love to perform in front of people, be it singing, speech, or drama. It’s something I’m passionate about, so I’m gonna share it with you.

Alright, I’m gonna assume that you have a song (or speech) all ready to go, so I’m only gonna focus on the performance aspect.

Dress To Kill

When you perform on stage, you need to be wearing something that makes you feel good and confident, but is also appropriate. I’m not gonna be like your mom and be strict about cleavage or skirt length, but everyone is going to be watching you. If you anything that’s even semi-sheer…BOOM! It’s now see-through. So wear a cami and leggings, because no one wants to see your undergarments. You’ll thank me later.

Scope Out the Scene

It doesn’t matter what the person in charge says: get to your performance area at least 30 minutes prior to your performance time. Why? You will want time to figure how they want you to enter the stage, how your mike works, when you come on, and other things. It also gives you a chance to rehearse and see what your stage looks like. If you are in a competition, your performance time may change, depending on who does and doesn’t show up.

Fight The Nerves

Nerves are your worst enemy, and you must know how to combat them. Some people’s nerves show in different ways. Right before a performance, I usually get irritable and snappish, and I also get stomach-twisting feelings. Figure out how your nerves show, and try to keep them to yourself. Also, nerves are perfectly normal, and other participants may feel the same way.

If you’re scared about all the people looking at you, request a spotlight, if it’s an option. The reason is when the spotlight is on you, you can’t see anyone. It really helps. I started performing (singing & acting) in 1st grade in front of my church (nearly 300 people), and because I am so used to large audiences, small ones (less than 100 people) freak me out. I’m guessing it’s the opposite for you.

If you make a mistake during your performance, don’t call attention to it, and move forward. Chances are, no one noticed or cared. One time, one of my friends in the Children’s Christmas Ensemble lost her shoes, right before we were about to go on. To support her, we all stripped off our shoes, and went out on stage barefoot. It became a tradition, from there on afterward.

I hope you enjoyed this fangirly post, and break a leg at your next performance!

Leave a Reply

